Effective Criminal Defense (716) 842-0550 Free Consulation
We offer effective and aggressive legal assistance.
Contact Us

Drug Lawyer Buffalo

Muscato & Shatkin, LLP

Are you looking for an experienced drug attorney? If you, or a loved one, have been charged with a drug related crime, we may be able to help

Muscato & Shatkin, LLP handles all criminal cases including drug charges.

Drug Lawyer Buffalo

Muscato & Shatkin, LLP provides legal representation throughout New York.

We are effective and aggressive and will work to help you get results that you need, from minor to major charges, at affordable rates.

If you have been charged with a drug related crime, call our office now for a free case review (716) 842-0550.

Get Professional Legal Advice

If you have a legal question, concern, or would like to schedule a consultation simply fill out the form below.
If this is an urgent matter please call (716) 842-0550.

Buffalo Drug Law Overview

DRUG CHARGE IN BUFFALO, NEW YORK

If you have been arrested for a Drug Charge in Buffalo you should contact a lawyer immediately.

New York Drug Laws

Possession for Personal Use

For a first time offender, possession of up to 25 grams of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $100.

If an additional offense occurs within three years of the first offense, possession of up to 25 grams of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $200.

For the third or subsequent offense(s) within a three-year period, possession of up to 25 grams of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $250 and/or imprisonment up to 15 days.

Possession of marijuana that exceeds 25 grams but is less than 2 ounces is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 3 months imprisonment.

Possession of marijuana that exceeds 2 ounces but is less than 8 ounces is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 1 year of imprisonment.

Possession of marijuana that exceeds 8 ounces but is less than 16 ounces is a class E felony and is punishable by a maximum of 4 years of imprisonment.

Possession of marijuana that exceeds 16 ounces but is less than 10 pounds is a class D felony and is punishable by a maximum of 7 years of imprisonment.

Possession of marijuana that exceeds 10 pounds is a class C felony and is punishable by a maximum of 15 years of imprisonment.

The Sale of Drugs

Exchange without payment of less than 2 grams of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 3 months imprisonment.

Sale of marijuana in any amount to a person under the age of 18 is a class D felony and is punishable by a maximum of 7 years of imprisonment.

Sale of marijuana in an amount less than 25 grams is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 1 year of imprisonment.

Sale of marijuana in an amount greater than 25 grams but less than 4 ounces is a class E felony and is punishable by a maximum of 4 years of imprisonment.

Sale of marijuana in an amount greater than 4 ounces but less than 16 ounces is a class D felony and is punishable by a maximum of 7 years of imprisonment.

Sale of marijuana in excess of 16 ounces is a class C felony and is punishable by a maximum of 15 years of imprisonment.

Using a child to assist in the sale of marijuana is a class E felony and is punishable by a maximum of 4 years of imprisonment. This offense includes hiding marijuana on a child or otherwise directing a child to assist in a marijuana sale.

Trafficking

A person is considered a trafficker of marijuana if they do any of the following:

  • Act as the director of an organization, which sells $75000 worth of marijuana over the course of a year or less
  • collect $75000 or more from sales of marijuana over the course of 6 months or less;
  • possess with intent to sell $75000 or more of marijuana over the course of 6 months or less

If one or more of the above are satisfied the person may be charged as a major trafficker, this is a class A-I felony and is punishable by 15-25 years of imprisonment.

Paraphernalia

Possession or sale of scales or balances for the purpose of weighing or measuring marijuana is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a maximum of 1 year of imprisonment.

Any subsequent conviction of possession or sale of paraphernalia is a class D felony and is punishable by a maximum of 7 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $5000.

Muscato & Shatkin, LLP 415 Franklin Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
(716) 842-0550 Mon-Fri 8:30a.m.-5:00 p.m. Or by appointment Get Directions